CAR/W Contacts

Our directors, advisory board and council of faculty representatitves work together to strengthen reading and writing education in California.


Nancy Brynelson
California State University, Sacramento
6000 J St. Modoc Hall 2003
Sacramento, CA 95819-6018
(916) 278-4581 or 278-4176

Hallie Yopp Slowik, Ph.D.
Professor, California State University, Fullerton
CSU Fullerton - EC 324
P.O. Box 6868
Fullerton, CA 92834-6868
(657) 278-3900

Advisory Board

The CAR/W advisory board represents both CSU literacy faculty and representatives from educational stakeholders and the public. Their work assists the center in fulfilling its mission and determining its policies and direction.

Julie Maxwell-Jolly, Ph.D.

California School Boards Association

Lisa Hutton, Ed.D

CSU Dominguez Hills

Valerie Helgren-Lempesis, Ed.D.

CSU East Bay

Irene Nares-Guzicki, Ed.D.

CSU Monterey Bay

Manuel Correia, Ph.D.

CSU Channel Islands

Susan Neufeld, Ed.D.

Stanislaus State

Council of Faculty Representatives

The faculty council is made up of one literacy faculty member from each of the 22 campuses that have teacher preparation programs and CalStateTEACH. The representatives serve as liaisons to their campuses and assist in carrying out the mission of the center.

Manuel Correia, Ph.D.

CSU Channel Islands

Lisa Hutton, Ed.D.

CSU Dominguez Hills

Marisol Ruiz, Ph.D.

Humboldt State

Trini Lewis, Ph.D.

CSU Long Beach

Joan Fingon, Ed.D.

CSU Los Angeles

Peter Olson, Ph.D.

Cal Poly Pomona

Marcy Merrill, Ph.D.

Sacramento State

Kathryn Howard, Ph.D.

CSU San Bernardino

Marva Cappello, Ph.D.

San Diego State

Marguerite Conrad

San Francisco State

Allison Briceno

San José State 

Tanya Renee Flushman, Ph.D.

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Christiane Wood, Ph.D.

CSU San Marcos

Rhianna Casesa, Ph.D.

Sonoma State 

Susan Neufeld, Ed.D.

Stanislaus State