Graduate Student Categories

Students who meet the minimum requirements for graduate and post-baccalaureate studies may be considered for admission in one of the four following categories.

1. Graduate Classified

To pursue a graduate degree, you will be required to fulfill all of the professional, personal, scholastic, and other standards, including qualifying examinations, prescribed by the campus.

2. Graduate Conditionally Classified

You may be admitted to a graduate degree program in this category if, in the opinion of the appropriate campus authority, you can remedy deficiencies by additional preparation.

3. Postbaccalaureate Classified

If you wish to enroll in a credential or certificate program, you will be required to satisfy additional professional, personal, scholastic and other standards, including qualifying examinations, prescribed by the campus.

4. Postbaccalaureate Unclassified

To enroll in graduate-level courses for professional or personal growth, you must be admitted as a postbaccalaureate unclassified student. By meeting the general requirements, you are eligible for admission as a postbaccalaureate unclassified student. 

Some departments may restrict enrollment of unclassified students due to heavy enrollment pressure. Some CSU campuses do not admit students to the postbaccalaureate unclassified category. Admission in this status does not constitute admission to, or assurance of consideration for admission to, any other graduate degree or credential program.

Program Limitations

Some graduate programs are able to admit all qualified applicants who apply during the filing period. Others have established higher standards for admission to specific programs. 

A few high-demand programs are unable to admit all students who apply and meet the established minimum qualifications (Read more about Impaction). Generally, your chances of being accommodated will be better the earlier you apply in the filing period.