Skip to main content


About AB 540/ AB 2000 and the California Dream Act

The following Assembly Bills allow undocumented students to qualify for in-state tuition at the California State University campuses:

  • Assembly Bill 540 (AB 540), passed in 2001, grants students meeting certain criteria an exemption from paying nonresident tuition at the CSU.
  • Assembly Bill 2000 (AB 2000), passed in 2014. This is an expansion of AB540. It increases the scope of student eligibility for students who graduated early from a California High School with the equivalent of three or more years of credits. If a student graduates early, they must have attended CA elementary or secondary schools for a cumulative total of 3 or more years. It allows students meeting the criteria below to pay in-state tuition, the same as resident students.
  • The California Dream Act (Assembly Bills 130 and 131) was signed into law in 2011. These two bills together compose the California Dream Act and gave AB 540 / AB 2000 students the right to apply for state financial aid, which includes Cal Grant A & B Entitlement awards, Cal Grant C awards, institutional grants and community college fee waivers.