Responsibility for the CSU is vested in a 25-member Board of Trustees, ​​​the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the university’s chief executive officer, and the presidents, who are the chief executive officers of their respective campuses and report to the chancellor. The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop university-wide policies.

Board of Trustees

Ex Officio Members

Governor Gavin Newsom

Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis 

Speaker of the Assembly Anthony Rendon 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond

CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White (retiring 2020) 

Appointed Members
(term ends during the year shown​) 

Silas Abrego (2021)

Larry L. Adamson (2022)

Jane W. Carney (2022)

Adam Day, Chair (2023)

Rebecca D. Eisen (2020)

Douglas Faigin (2025)

Debra S. Farar (2022)

Jean Picker Firstenberg (2026)

Wenda Fong (2024)

Juan F. Garcia (student trustee) (2020)

Maryana Khames (student trustee) (2021)

Lillian Kimbell, Vice Chair (2024)

Jeffrey Krinsk (2027)

John "Jack" McGrory (2023)

Hugo N. Morales (2020)

​Romey Sabalius (faculty trustee) (2021)

Lateefah Simon (2027)

Christopher J. Steinhauser (2026)

Peter J. Taylor (2021)

Administrative Leaders

Timothy P. White, Chancellor (retiring 2020)

Loren Blanchard, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs

Andrew Jones, Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel

Steve Relyea, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Garrett P. Ashley, Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement

Larry Mandel, Vice Chancellor and Chief Audit Officer (retiring 2020​)

Evelyn Nazario, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

​Campus Presidents

PresidentAppointment Year
BakersfieldLynnette Zelezny2018
Channel IslandsErika D. Beck2016
ChicoGayle E. Hutchinson2016
Dominguez HillsThomas A. Parham2018
East BayLeroy M. Morishita2012
FresnoJoseph I. Castro2013
FullertonFramroze Virjee
Tom Jackson, Jr.
Long Beach
Jane Close Conoley2014
Los Angeles
William A. Covino2013
Maritime Academy
Thomas A. Cropper2012
Monterey Bay
Eduardo M. Ochoa2013
Dianne F. Harrison2012
Soraya M. Coley2015
Robert S. Nelsen2015
San Bernardino
Tomás D. Morales2012
San Diego
Adela de la Torre2018
San Francisco
Lynn Mahoney
San José
Mary A. Papazian2016
San Luis ObispoJeffrey D. Armstrong
San Marcos
Ellen J. Neufeldt
Judy K. Sakaki
Ellen N. Junn2016

Leadership is current as of March 2020. For a current list and links to the biographies of trustees, administrative officers and campus presidents, visit calstate.edu/csu-system/about-the-csu/leadership.