AGENDA

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Meeting: 4:00 p.m., Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium

Anna Ortiz-Morfit, Chair Douglas Faigin, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Raji Kaur Brar Jean Picker Firstenberg Mark Ghilarducci Yammilette Rodriguez José Antonio Vargas

Consent 1. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of May 23, 2023, *Action*

Discussion 2. 2023-2024 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement, *Information*

Action Item Agenda Item 1 September 10-13, 2023 Page 1 of 2

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

Trustees of the California State University Office of the Chancellor Glenn S. Dumke Auditorium 401 Golden Shore Long Beach, California

May 23, 2023

Members Present

Lillian Kimbell, Chair Jean Picker Firstenberg, Vice Chair Diego Arambula Leslie Gilbert-Lurie Anna Ortiz-Morfit Yammilette Rodriguez

Jolene Koester, Interim Chancellor Wenda Fong, Chair of the Board

Trustee Kimbell called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of March 21, 2023, were approved as submitted.

Naming of Landmark Hall - California State University, Fullerton

Steve Relyea, executive vice chancellor and chief financial officer, reported that the proposed naming recognizes the cumulative \$9.1 million gift from Mr. Terry Giles, Landmark Worldwide and their licensees to support the construction of the Center for Leadership building. This new three-story, state-of-the-art building will house the Business Leadership Library and serve as the premier home for leadership development in Orange County.

Mr. Giles shared remarks remotely, and Cal State Fullerton President Fram Virjee and Interim Chancellor Koester thanked Landmark Worldwide, Mr. Giles and his wife Ms. Kalli O'Malley for their transformative generosity.

Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 1 September 10-13, 2023 Page 2 of 2

The committee approved the proposed resolution (RIA 05-23-05) that the planned Center for Leadership Building at California State University, Fullerton be named as Landmark Hall for a term of 25 years.

Naming of the Philip and Christina Bailey College of Science and Mathematics – California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Executive Vice Chancellor Relyea reported that the proposed naming honors Drs. Philip and Christina Bailey – longtime, dedicated faculty, volunteers and supporters of Cal Poly. Dr. Philip Bailey's vision for the College of Science and Mathematics inspired historic philanthropic investment, including the largest gift in CSU history received from the Frosts in May 2017. It is the desire of William and Linda Frost that their gift recognizes the legacy of Drs. Philip and Christina Bailey.

Dr. Philip Bailey shared remarks, and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo President Jeff Armstrong and Interim Chancellor Koester thanked Dr. Philip Bailey and the late Dr. Christina Bailey for their decades of services to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and recognized the tremendous impact of their collective work.

The committee recommended approval by the board of the proposed resolution (RIA 05-23-06) that the College of Science and Mathematics at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo be named the Philip and Christina Bailey College of Science and Mathematics.

Trustee Kimbell adjourned the meeting.

Information Item Agenda Item 2 September 10-13, 2023 Page 1 of 2

COMMITTEE ON INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

2023-2024 California State University Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Presentation By

Wenda Fong Chair of the Board

Summary

The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees provides scholarships to high-achieving students with superior academic records who are also providing extraordinary service to their communities. Many have overcome profound challenges in their journey toward pursuing their academic goals.

Background

Since its inception, over 500 students have received the CSU Trustees' Awards for Outstanding Achievement. Thanks to donor generosity, 23 students will receive an award this year. The most outstanding recipient is designated the Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar.

These distinguished awards are funded by contributions from the CSU trustees, employees and friends of the university. In 2022, the CSU Board of Trustees funded—through individual contributions—a 2022 and 2023 named scholarship honoring Debra Farar's service as trustee.

Scholarships range from \$7,000 to \$18,000. The recipients of the 2023-2024 CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement are:

Felisa Patiño-Longoria California State University, Bakersfield *SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union Scholar*

Serena Palaroan California State University Channel Islands *Trustee Emerita Debra S. Farar Scholar*

Gerardo Langarica Martinez California State University, Chico *Chancellor Emeritus Timothy P. White Scholar* **Krystal Lopez** California State University, Dominguez Hills *TELACU Scholar*

Monica Chicas California State University, East Bay William Randolph Hearst Scholar

Ali Fakhrudin Dadawalla California State University, Fresno Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. and Catherine Reed Scholar Inst. Adv. Agenda Item 2 September 10-13, 2023 Page 2 of 2

Anthony Kyle Olson California State University, Fullerton *William Randolph Hearst Scholar*

Andres Felix Romero California State Polytechnic University, Humboldt *CSU Trustee Leslie and Cliff Gilbert-Lurie Scholar*

Erish Mae E. Araneta California State University, Long Beach Ron and Mitzi Barhorst Scholar

Patrick Emmanuel Sangalang California State University, Los Angeles *Michael A. and Debe Lucki Scholar*

Maxima Alexandra California State University Maritime Academy *Trustee Jack McGrory Scholar*

Melanie Mena California State University, Monterey Bay Trustee Chair Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly Scholar

Tania Parker California State University, Northridge *Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholar*

Philip Nicoll California State Polytechnic University, Pomona *Edison International Scholar*

Shamona Thompson Ross California State University, Sacramento *Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton Scholar* Sahmae S. Jackson California State University, San Bernardino *Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholar*

Jahaziel Sanchez San Diego State University John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation Scholar

Elizabeth Strong San Francisco State University *William Randolph Hearst Scholar*

Estefania Montiel San José State University *Trustee Emeritus William Hauck and Padget Kaiser Scholar*

Christina Benitez Ruiz California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo *William Randolph Hearst Scholar*

Yesenia Aurora Mora California State University San Marcos Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation Scholar

Angelo Incitti Sonoma State University Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong Scholar

Colin Christian Bethishou California State University, Stanislaus *Steve Relyea Scholar*