The California State University’s women presidents were invited to the state capitol on April 2 for special recognition by the California State Senate in commemoration of Women’s History Month.

Senator Ricardo Lara gave a speech on the Senate floor in which he acknowledged the diverse leadership of the CSU and the achievements of its women presidents. Each of the seven presidents who were able to attend the event was presented with a resolution and honored by their respective local representatives.

“The CSU has always been a trailblazer for equality and one of our state’s greatest engines of opportunity,” said Lara. “The women who lead these universities are sending strong messages to students that there are no limits to where your talent and creativity can take you.”

For the first time in the CSU system’s nearly six decade history, a majority of women currently lead or will soon take the reins as campus presidents. At the start of the 2018 academic year, 52.2 percent of CSU campus presidents will be women – nearly double the national average for U.S. colleges and universities.

Of the 23 campuses, twelve will be led by women: Bakersfield, Channel Islands, Chico, Humboldt, Long Beach, Northridge, Pomona, San Diego, San José, San Marcos, Sonoma and Stanislaus.

The most recent appointments are Lynette Zelezny to Cal State Bakersfield in May and Adela de la Torre to San Diego State in January, who will take up their positions in July of this year.

The expanded diversity among presidents has been a key goal of Chancellor Timothy P. White. During his tenure, the CSU has appointed 17 presidents, of whom 10 are women.

"CSU presidents all share a tremendous passion for the students and communities we serve," said Chancellor Timothy P. White. "We are fortunate that our unique mission attracts visionary leaders who advance the CSU legacy of inclusive excellence."

To learn more about the CSU's campus presidents, please visit our leadership page here