Press Release Leadership

Cal State Fullerton Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting




The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new permanent president of California State University, Fullerton (CSUF) to succeed Mildred García, who was appointed president of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) in November, 2017. Framroze Virjee was subsequently chosen to serve as president of CSUF, and he serves in that capacity until the next permanent president is appointed by CSU Trustees.

The first meeting of the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 9, in Meng Hall in the Clayes Performing Arts Center on the CSUF campus. The open meeting will be followed by a closed meeting at 3:15 p.m.

CSU Trustee Silas Abrego will chair the committee. The other trustee members include:  Douglas Faigin, Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana and Christopher Steinhauser as well as Trustee Chairman Adam Day and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Board policy requires the chair of the CSU Trustees to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus' constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus - both selected by the chancellor.  Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:

  • CSUF faculty members Irene Matz, Ph.D., professor, Human Communication Studies and Sean Walker, Ph.D., professor and chair, Biological Science
  • Mark Hoven Stohs, Ph.D., chair, CSUF Academic Senate
  • Emeline Yong, assistant dean, student affairs, Mihaylo College of Business and Economics (staff representative)
  • Josh Borjas, president and chief executive officer, CSUF Associated Students, Inc. (student representative)
  • Adam Koyanagi (alumni representative)
  • Kerri Ruppert Schiller, chair CSUF Philanthropic Foundation (campus advisory board representative)
  • Danny Kim, vice president and chief financial officer, CSUF Division of Administration and Finance
  • Community representatives Judge Elizabeth Macias and Ingrid Otero-Smart
  • Soraya M. Coley, Ph.D., president of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

The purpose of the meeting in an open forum is to: review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

Over the next several months, the committee will review candidates and conduct interviews.

# # #

About the California State University
The California State University is the largest system of four-year higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, 50,800 faculty and staff and 484,000 students. Half of the CSU's students transfer from California community colleges. Created in 1960, the mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of California. With its commitment to quality, opportunity, and student success, the CSU is renowned for superb teaching, innovative research and for producing job-ready graduates. Each year, the CSU awards more than 110,000 degrees. One in every 20 Americans holding a college degree is a graduate of the CSU and our alumni are 3.4 million strong. Connect with and learn more about the CSU in the CSU NewsCenter.