Four CSU professors have been awarded the distinction of AAAS Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers, according to the association, which publishes the journal Science.

The following CSU faculty have been recognized as 2015 AAAS Fellows for extraordinary achievements in their respective disciplines:

  • Maria C. Linder, CSU Fullerton (Biological Sciences)
    Linder's current studies focus on how the human body uses iron. Over the decades, Linder has been a leading advocate to give undergraduates opportunities to conduct research. Each year, she has more than 20 students working in her lab.
  • Jan A. Randall (Professor Emerita), San Francisco State (Biological Sciences)
    In 2013, Randall was elected a Fellow of the Animal Behavior Society in recognition of her long and productive research career, which demonstrated the importance of social structure in animal species once considered asocial. She is interested in promoting women in science and has funded a seminar series at the University of Idaho that features outstanding women scientists. 
  • Annalisa Berta, San Diego State (Geology & Geography)
    Research in Berta’s lab focuses on the anatomy, evolution, systematics, and biogeography of various marine mammals, especially cetaceans. Berta has published nearly 85 peer reviewed articles and currently serves as coordinator of the SDSU-University of California Riverside joint-Ph.D. program in evolutionary biology.
  • Victor Golla, Humboldt State (Linguistics & Language Sciences)
    Golla’s research is focused on the native languages of California. In selecting Golla, the AAAS cited his “influential research on Native American languages, for invaluable contributions to the history of Native American linguistics and ethnography, and for outstanding service to the profession.” In 2011, Golla published the first encyclopedic reference book of all indigenous languages known to have existed in California before 1850.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. This year, 347 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be honored during the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., in February.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of Science and related journals. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes 254 affiliated societies and academies of science.

In addition to this year’s Fellows, several active AAAS members who have earned the recognition as a Fellow also come from the CSU:

  • David Archibald, San Diego State (Biology, 2007)
  • Herbert K Runkhorst, CSU San Bernardino (Education, 2003)
  • Annalisa Berta, San Diego State (Geology & Geography, 2015)
  • Carl Carrano, San Diego State (Chemistry, 2012)
  • Lynn Cominsky, Sonoma State (Astronomy, 2012)
  • Karen Emmorey, San Diego State (Linguistics, 2011)
  • Carlos Gutierrez, CSU Los Angeles (Chemistry, 2001)
  • Stuart Hurlbert, San Diego State (Biological Sciences, 1989)
  • Robert Philip Metzger, San Diego State (Chemistry, 1968)
  • Steven Oppenheimer, CSU Northridge (Biological Sciences, 1992)
  • Dena Plemmons, San Diego State (Societal Impacts of Science And Engineering, 2011)
  • Vilupanur Ravi, Cal Poly Pomona (2014)
  • Forest Rohwer, San Diego State (Biology, 2006)
  • Rollin Richmond, Humboldt State (Biological Sciences, 1985)
  • Lisa Rossbacher, Humboldt State (Geology & Geography, 2000)
  • Maria Elena Zavala, CSU Northridge (Biological Sciences, 2009)