Press Release

Northridge Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting




(October 14, 2011) – The California State University Board of Trustees will begin the search this month for a new president of California State University, Northridge to succeed President Jolene Koester, who is retiring after serving as president of the university since 2000.

The first meeting of the search committee will be held from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 27 at CSU Northridge, 18111 Nordhoff Street, in the Jack & Florence Ferman Presentation Room in the Oviatt Library. This is the first and only meeting of the committee that is an open meeting.

CSU Trustee Bob Linscheid will chair the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President. The other trustee members of the selection committee include Debra Farar, Carol Chandler and Glen Toney, as well as Trustee Chair Herbert Carter and CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed.

Board policy requires the chair to appoint an advisory group to the trustees’ committee. The Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President is composed of representatives of the faculty, students and alumni, as well as a member of the campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus constituent groups. Also on the advisory committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus, both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include: Amanda M. Flavin, president, CSUN Associated Students Inc.; David Fleming, Latham & Watkins; Veronica Grant, CSUN University Advancement; George S. Leis, president/COO, Pacific Capital Bancorp; Michael Neubauer, CSUN professor of mathematics and Liberal Studies program director; J. Michael Ortiz, president, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona; Steven Stepanek, faculty president and Senate chair, CSUN; Irene F. Tovar, CSUN Alumni Council; Veda Ward, CSUN professor, Recreation and Tourism Management; William Watkins, vice president, CSUN Student Affairs.

The purpose of the meeting is to review the role of the committee, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

The committee will work over the next several months reviewing applications and will conduct interviews. It is expected that the new president will be selected by the CSU Board of Trustees in January.

For more information about the CSU presidential search process, see the Executive Search page.


About the California State University
The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, approximately 412,000 students and 43,000 faculty and staff.  The CSU awards about 90,000 degrees annually and since its creation in 1961 has conferred nearly 2.6 million.  Celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, the CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces.  The mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever changing needs of the people of California.  With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is working for California.

Connect with and learn more about the CSU at CSU Social Media.