Press Release Education

Sacramento State Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting




​​​​​​​The California State University Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new president of Sacramento State to succeed Alexander Gonzalez, who has announced he will retire at the end of the 2014-15 academic year.

The first meeting of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 10 a.m. to noon on Wednesday, December 3, in the University Ballroom on the Sacramento State campus. The University Ballroom is located in the University Union in room 1103. The open meeting will be followed by a closed meeting at noon.

CSU Trustee Steven M. Glazer will chair the committee. The other trustee me​​mbers include: Rebecca D. Eisen, Margaret Fortune and Lupe Garcia, as well as Trustee Chair Lou Monville and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Board policy requires the chair to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from Sacramento State’s faculty, students, alumni, and campus community as well as a member of a campus advisory board – all of whom are selected by the campus’ constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus – both selected by the Chancellor.  Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:

  • Thomas A. Cropper – President at California State University Maritime Academy
  • De-Laine Cyrenne – Professor of Psychology at Sacramento State
  • Cheryl Dell – Publisher and President at Sacramento Bee
  • Pat Fong Kushida – President/CEO at Sacramento Asian Pacific Chamber of Commerce
  • Lauren Lombardo – President/CEO of Associated Students, Inc. at Sacramento State
  • Christine D. Lovely – Vice President of Human Resources at Sacramento State
  • Carlos Nevarez – Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Sacramento State
  • H. Reza Peigahi – Chair of Faculty Senate at Sacramento State
  • Marco A. Rodriguez – President of the Sacramento State Alumni Association
  • Pamela O. Stewart – Chair of the University Foundation at Sacramento State
  • Mary Shepherd – Coordinator of New Student Orientation at Sacramento State

The purpose of the meeting is to:  review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

Over the next several months, the committee will review applications and conduct interviews.

For more information about the presidential search process, see the Sacramento State Presidential ​Search page.


About the California State University
The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, more than 450,000 students and 45,000 faculty and staff. Created in 1961, the CSU awards more than 100,000 exceptional degrees annually and this spring will be celebrating the milestone of reaching 3 Million alumni. The CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces. The mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever changing needs of the people of California. With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is working for California. Connect with and learn more about the CSU at CSU Social Media

Board of Trustees