Press Release

San Bernardino Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting




(January 26, 2012) – The California State University Board of Trustees will begin the search this month for a new president of California State University, San Bernardino to succeed  President Albert Karnig, who is retiring after serving as president of the university since 1997.     

The first meeting of the search committee will be held in an open forum from 10 a.m. to noon on Friday, February 10 at the Santos Manuel Student Union Events Center on the CSUSB campus, followed by a closed meeting of the committee at 1 p.m.  This is the only meeting of the committee that is an open meeting. 

CSU Trustee Debra Farar will chair the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President.  The other trustee members of the selection committee include Margaret Fortune, Bob Linscheid and Lou Monville, as well as Trustee Chair Herbert L. Carter and CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed. 

Board policy requires the chair to appoint an advisory group to the trustees’ committee.  The Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President is composed of representatives of the faculty, students and alumni, as well as a member of the campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus constituent groups.  Also on the advisory committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus, both selected by the chancellor.  Both committees function as one group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include: Lois Carson (community representative); Mark Edwards, attorney at law, Mirau, Edwards, Cannon, Lewin & Tooke, CSUSB Foundation; Paul Granillo, president and chief executive officer, Inland Empire Economic Partnership (alumni representative); Aaron Jimenez, president, CSUSB Associated Students; Janet Kottke, professor, Department of Psychology and Human Development; Frank L. Rincon, CSUSB vice president for student affairs; Treadwell Ruml, professor, Department of English; Richard Rush, president, CSU Channel Islands; Jodie Ullman, chair, CSUSB Faculty Senate and Felix Zúñiga, CSUSB information technology consultant, Department of Accounting & Information Resources and Technology. 

The purpose of the meeting in an open forum is to review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

The committee will work over the next several months reviewing applications and will conduct interviews.  It is expected that the new president will be selected by the CSU Board of Trustees in May.    

For more information about the CSU presidential search process, see the Executive Search page.


About the California State University
The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, approximately 427,000 students and 44,000 faculty and staff. The CSU awards about 99,000 degrees annually and since its creation in 1961 has conferred nearly 2.6 million. The CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces. The mission of the CSU is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever changing needs of the people of California. With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is working for California.

Connect with and learn more about the CSU at CSU Social Media.