Press Release Board of Trustees

San José State Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting




The California State University Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new president of San José State University to succeed Mohammad Qayoumi, who left the CSU on August 17 to serve as an advisor to Afghanistan President Ashraf Ghani. The first meeting of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 15, in Morris Dailey Auditorium on the San José State campus. Members of the campus community, community-at-large and media are invited to attend. Parking information is available at Parking fees will be enforced.

The purpose of the open forum is to: review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.

Trustee Rebecca D. Eisen will chair the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President. The other trustee members include: Kelsey Brewer, Margaret Fortune, Stephen G. Stepanek, as well as Trustee Lou Monville, chair of the Board, and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Board policy calls for the chair to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from San José State’s faculty, students, alumni, and campus community, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, and are all selected by their respective constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean, and a president of another CSU campus, both selected by the chancellor. The Trustee’s Committee for the Selection of the President and the Advisory Committee function as a unified committee.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:

  • Lourdes “LooLoo” Amante, student and president, Associated Students of SJSU
  • Elaine Chin, Ph.D., dean of the Connie L. Lurie College of Education
  • Kenneth Fong, Ph.D., community member
  • Lynda Heiden, Ph.D., professor, Department of Psychology
  • Camille Johnson, Ph.D., professor, School of Management
  • Michael Kimbarow, Ph.D., chair, SJSU Academic Senate
  • Horace Mitchell, Ph.D., president, CSU Bakersfield
  • Edward Oates, chair, Tower Foundation Board
  • The Honorable Raul Peralez, member, San José City Council
  • Robert Weiss, Ph.D., SJSU alumnus
  • Hyon Chu Yi-Baker, director, MOSAIC Cross Cultural Center

Over the next several months, the committee will review applications and conduct interviews.

The general public may call (408) 924-1177 for more information. Details about the CSU presidential search process are available at Presidential Search. Members of the campus and community-at-large, who are unable to attend the open forum, may email their suggestions to