Three Alumnae Champion Success as 2015 Teachers of the Year

Stephanie Thara



​Three California State University alumnae have been named 2015 California Teachers of the Year – the highest honor bestowed on public school educators statewide. Amy Laughlin, Maggie Mabery and Lovelyn Marquez-Prueher reflect the CSU’s achievement in preparing high-quality teachers who are equipped with the knowledge and tools necessary to help shape tomorrow’s California. Mabery was also nominated to serve as California’s representative for the National Teacher of the Year competition.

The CSU prepares more teachers than any other university, producing more than 10,000 new teachers each year—with three of the newest California Teachers of the Year among its ranks. The following alumnae were three of five outstanding educators who were lauded for their devotion, energy and passion for helping students achieve inside and outside the classroom.

  • Amy LaughlinAmy Laughlin: Laughlin has been teaching for 16 years, 13 of them at Hansen School—and the last six as a Title I Intervention Specialist there. She strives to ensure that all children have a fair, equal and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education. Her class, called Husky Time, is an intensive reading intervention program she created for struggling students in all grade levels. Laughlin earned an Administrative Services Credential in 2013 from CSU Long Beach and a master of arts in curriculum and instruction in middle school education in 2011 from CSU San Bernardino.
  • Maggie MaberyMaggie Mabery: Mabery has been a science teacher for 15 years, of which 13 have been spent at Manhattan Beach Middle School, where her class motto is “Keep Calm and Science On.”  She has been widely lauded for a classroom style that engages her students in science and takes pride in the boisterous nature of her technology-based classroom. She earned her master’s degree in education administration from CSU Dominguez Hills. State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson has also nominated Mabery as California’s representative for the National Teacher of the Year competition.
  • Lovelyn Marquez-PrueherLovelyn Marquez-Prueher: Marquez-Prueher has been teaching for 11 years, six of which have been at Dobson Middle School. She is considered a mentor, a leader and a promoter of partnerships with parents and the community. As an immigrant child, Marquez-Prueher’s own school experience in America had a difficult beginning. She uses her experience to understand the diversity and culture of every child to ensure that all students learn to thrive in today’s diverse society. Marquez-Prueher received her master’s degree in education from Cal State L.A. in 2007.

The California Teachers of the Year Program began in 1972 to honor teachers who successfully employ strategies that increase academic success and narrow the achievement gap with a range of diverse students. The program pays tribute to California’s teaching force, the complexity of challenges that confront K-12 schools and the need to promote collaboration and teamwork to meet those challenges. The process results in the annual selection of five experienced teachers who reflect the diversity of our teachers and students. To learn more about the program and the 2015 California Teachers of the Year, visit