Our Donors

The CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement continues to flourish thanks to the generous support of our champions.

Founding Leaders

The vision of our Founding Leaders—the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi—laid out a path of success for many CSU students.

The Founding Leaders established this signature award to recognize outstanding achievement across the CSU system.

William Randolph Hearst Foundation and Paul Dinovitz, Executive Director
CSU Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi

Chair’s Circle

Every scholarship in the Chair’s Circle is named in honor of a donor’s endowed gift
of $150,000 or more toward the award program.

CSU Foundation Board Chair Ron and Mitzi Barhorst
CSU Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong
CSU Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson^
CSU Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton^
CSU Trustee Emeritus William Hauck^ and Padget Kaiser
CSU Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed^ and Catherine Reed

Chancellor’s Circle

Chancellor’s Circle donors are longtime supporters of the CSU, who commit to our
mission and vision by fully funding a named scholarship through annual contributions
of at least $6,000.

Edison International
CSU Trustee Rebecca D. ​​and James Eisen*
Fresno State Foundation Board of Governors
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
CSU Foundation Board Member Michael A. and Debe Lucki
CSU Trustee Jack McGrory
Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union
Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation
CSU Trustee Peter J. Taylor and Coralyn Taylor*
Wells Fargo & Company

President’s Circle

Donors in the President’s Circle contribute through endowments that are combined
with other gifts to fully fund a scholarship award.

CSU Trustee Emeritus and CSU Foundation Board Member George M. Marcus and Judy Marcus
John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation/CSU Trustee Emeritus Laurence K. Gould, Jr.


Supporters of the CSU Trustees’ Award contribute at various levels and illustrate the
broad range of support for our students across California and the nation.

AmazonSmile Foundation
Sam Camarena
CSU Trustee Jane W. Carney
Andrea Cisco
Judson and Lynne Clark*
Arlene Coronel
Ernst & Young Foundation
CSU Trustee Douglas Faigin
CSU Trustee Debra S. and Sim Farar
CSU Trustee Jean P. Firstenberg
Melinda and Daniel Friedeberg
CSU Trustee Wenda Fong and Daniel Fetterly
William and Gayle Glauz
CSU Trustee Emeritus Harold Goldwhite
Harbor Freight Tools for Schools, LLC/ Smidt Foundation
CSU Trustee Lillian Kimbell and Nathan Gardels
CSU Trustee Emeritus Bob Linscheid
CSU Trustee Emeritus Lou and Elizabeth Monville
Aaron J. Moore and John De La Torre
CSU Trustee Hugo Morales
Kenneth Niven
CSU Trustee J. Lawrence Norton
Opterra Energy Services, Inc. 
Orange County's United Way
Peachtree Road United Methodist Church~
Elizabeth Penfil
Lori A. Redfearn and Robert Corrigan*
CSU Executive Vice Chancellor Steve Relyea and Vanessa Ryan
Jabran Samaan
CSU Trustee Romey Sabalius
CSU Trustee Emeritus Steven Stepanek
United Way California Capital Region
CSU Chancellor Timothy P. and Karen White, in honor of the leadership provided by the CSU presidents, vice chancellors and trustees.
Joseph Zipkin

Program Sponsors

Program Sponsors sustain the operations of the CSU Trustees’ Award, including funding
the awards reception, travel expenses for student awardees and more.​


^ Deceased
*In Memory of CSU Trustee Emeritus William Hauck
~In Memory of CSU Chancellor Emeritus Chares B. Reed