Skip to main content


Our Donors

The CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement continues to flourish thanks to the generous support of our champions.

Founding Leaders

The vision of our Founding Leaders—the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi—laid out a path of success for many CSU students.

The Founding Leaders established this signature award to recognize outstanding achievement across the CSU system.

William Randolph Hearst Foundation and Paul Dinovitz, Executive Director
CSU Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi

Chair’s Circle

Every scholarship in the Chair’s Circle is named in honor of a donor’s endowed gift
of $150,000 or more toward the award program.

CSU Foundation Board Chair Ron and Mitzi Barhorst
CSU Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson^
CSU Trustee Emerita Claudia H. Hampton^
CSU Trustee Emeritus William Hauck^ and Padget Kaiser
CSU Trustee Emeritus Kenneth Fong
James E. Key Trust
CSU Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed^ and Catherine Reed

Chancellor’s Circle

Chancellor’s Circle donors are longtime supporters of the CSU, who commit to our
mission and vision by fully funding a named scholarship through annual contributions
of at least $6,000.

Mona C. Simpson / Boeing
Cisco Systems, Inc.
Edison International
CSU Trustee Board Chair Rebecca D. ​​and James Eisen*
Fresno State Foundation Board of Governors
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
CSU Foundation Board Member Michael A. and Debe Lucki
Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
Santé Health System, Inc. and Advantek Benefit Administrators
Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation
CSU Trustee Peter J. Taylor and Coralyn Taylor*
Wells Fargo & Company 

President’s Circle

Donors in the President’s Circle contribute through endowments that are combined
with other gifts to fully fund a scholarship award.

CSU Trustee Emeritus and CSU Foundation Board Member George M. Marcus and Judy Marcus
John and Beverly Stauffer Foundation/CSU Trustee Emeritus Laurence K. Gould, Jr.


Supporters of the CSU Trustees’ Award contribute at various levels and illustrate the
broad range of support for our students across California and the nation.

Lawrence Abele*
Academic Senate of the California State University
CSU Trustee Emerita Roberta Achtenberg*
ACT, Inc.*
AmazonSmile Foundation
Paul Anderson and Janet Fix*
President Jeffrey Armstrong*
CSU Vice Chancellor Garrett P. Ashley
Susan Baxter*
CSU Trustee Emeritus Jeffrey Bleich*
Carol A. and David J. Bossi*
CSU Vice Chancellor Emerita Gail Brooks*
Arlene Coronel
California State University, Bakersfield Alumni Association*
California State University, Fresno Alumni Association*
California State University San Marcos Foundation*
CSU Trustee Jane W. Carney
Mary and William Carrillo*
Kathleen and Carl Cohn*
Mark and Charlene Ebright*
Eli and Edy Broad Foundation*
Ernst & Young Foundation
Rebecca and Rick Evans*
CSU Trustee Debra S. and Sim Farar*
CSU Trustee Emeritus Robert Foster*
President Mildred Garcia*
Jim Gelb and Sharon Pohoryles*
Sandra B. George*
Jacqui Glasener*
CSU Trustee Emeritus Harold Goldwhite*
Gary Hammerstrom*
President Dianne Harrison*
President Karen S. Haynes and James Mickelson*
Christine Helwick*
CSU Trustee Emeritus Raymond W. Holdsworth
Matthew and Roberta Jenkins Family Foundation*
Barbara Kaufman*
Claudia Keith*
Thomas Kennedy and Daniela Bogdan-Kennedy*
CSU Trustee Lillian Kimbell and Nathan Gardels
President Emerita Jolene Koester*
Patrick and Sally Lenz*
CSU Trustee Emeritus Bob Linscheid
Tony Mesa and Hector Marquez*
Mile High United Way
CSU Trustee Emeritus Lou Monville and Elizabeth Monville*
Aaron Moore and John De La Torre
President Leroy M. Morishita and Barbara Hedani-Morishita*
Network For Good
Kenneth Niven and Julie Jeffry*
CSU Trustee J. Lawrence Norton
Opterra Energy Services, Inc.
Pacific Life
Robyn Pennington*
Kara Perkins*
David and Susan Pingree*
Gita Wijesinghe Pitter*
Christine Pokorney*
Raincross Advisors, Inc.
Lori A. Redfearn and Robert Corrigan*
CSU Executive Vice Chancellor Steve Relyea and Vanessa Ryan
Sarah Shaw*
Nancy Sleath*
James Stafford*
CSU Trustee Steven Stepanek
Cheryl Sumner*
Holly Tiche*
Robert Turnage and Kristina Somma*
CSU Trustee Emerita Martha C. and John Walda*
President Emeritus John Welty and Sharon Brown-Welty*
CSU Executive Vice Chancellor Emeritus Richard and Catherine West*
Sara and Christopher Whalen*
CSU Chancellor Timothy P. and Karen White, in honor of the
leadership provided by the CSU presidents, vice chancellors
and trustees, and in memory of Charlie Reed.
Christy Zamani*
Karen Zamarripa*
Joseph Zipkin
Crescenda Zuccaro

Program Sponsors

Program Sponsors sustain the operations of the CSU Trustees’ Award, including funding
the awards reception, travel expenses for student awardees and more.​

^ Deceased
*In memory of CSU Chancellor Emeritus Charles B. Reed