About the Board of Trustees

​​In adopting the Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960, the State Legislature established the Board of Trustees of The California State Colleges (designated "The California State University" on Jan. 1, 1982) to "succeed to the powers, duties and functions with respect to the management, administration and control of the state colleges." Prior to this, the State Board of Education had jurisdiction over the separate colleges.

The Donahoe Act also restructured the individual campuses into the nation's largest system of senior higher education. The Board of Trustees governs this diverse and complex 23-campus system by:

  1. developing broad administrative policy for the campuses;
  2. providing broad direction and coordination to campus curricular development;
  3. overseeing the efficient management of funds, property, facilities and investments by the system and the campuses;
  4. appointing the Chancellor and Vice Chancellors for the system, and the Presidents for the campuses as chief executives with certain delegated responsibilities; and communicating to the people of California an understanding and
  5. appreciation of the current effectiveness and the future needs of the California State University.