Legacy of Leadership Awards - Trailblazer Award

Remarks by Dr. Timothy P. White
Chancellor, California State University
Legacy of Leadership Awards – Trailblazer Award
Los Angeles, CA
April 27, 2015

Thank you, Janet Clayon and Linda Alvarez for leading the ceremonies tonight…

Thank you Pamela Hemann and everyone at Leadership California for allowing me to to highlight six accomplished, trailblazing leaders of the California State University this evening. They are Presidents:

  • Soraya Coley, Cal Poly Pomona
  • Jane Close Conoley, Cal State Long Beach
  • Millie Garcia, Cal State Fullerton
  • Dianne Harrison, Cal State Northridge
  • Karen Haynes, Cal State San Marcos
  • and Lisa Rossbacher, Humboldt State

No surprise our platinum sponsors reflect brains, energy and logistics – all apt descriptors of those leaders.

These women are a big part of our 3 million graduates, with 1 in 10 employed in California being CSU graduates.

Just curious… how many here tonight are CSU alums?

The six CSU presidents honored tonight with the Trailblazer Award work tirelessly to ensure that all students have opportunities to learn both within and outside the classroom – so that students benefit from unique educational experiences, gain inspiration from their learning and social environment, and become lifelong agents for positive change…

These presidents encourage students to become well-rounded, globally-focused analytical problem solvers with a penchant for civic engagement and community outreach.

Our 460,000 students – particularly our female students who make up more than 56 percent of CSU enrollment – look to these six presidents for leadership, mentorship, wisdom and guidance…

Thinking of Hilda’s comments… I’m inspired that these students reflect the spectrum of California – underserved, of color, or low-income, of low family education… and of high intellect and willing to work day and night to be better through education.

And these six presidents have taken on this responsibility with remarkable strength and clarity, as they individually and collectively bring a reservoir of experience and talent to their campus, their community, indeed their country every day and night.

Lisa, Karen, Dianne, Millie, Jane, and Soraya… on behalf of the entire California State University community, I congratulate each of you for this well-deserved recognition embodied in the Trailblazer Award.

Thank you for the work you do on your respective campuses, for the CSU system, and for higher education in this state and nation.

Thank you for advocating for higher education and the CSU and for your steadfast dedication to equity, opportunity and student success.

And thank you for being exceptional leaders for the women and men of this university and of California for inspiring us all to be better as we, together, create and serve California’s future.